Mr J Hallworth Executive Head Teacher
Mrs D Butler Chair of Governors (Community Governor)
Mrs D Nicholson Vice Chair of Governors (Community Governor)
Ms M Birkelbach Community Governor
Mrs J Robson Community Governor
Mr S Wordingham Community Governor
Mr W Tarvit Authority Majority Governor
Mr J R Robson Authority Minority Governor
Miss S Green Co-opted Governor
Mrs L Brown Co-Opted Governor
Mrs D A Cheetham Parent Governor
Mr S Gibson Parent Governor
Miss L A Robertson Staff Governor (Non-Teaching)
Dr M Beverley Observer
Mrs K Monte Observer

Key roles of governors:

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • To hold the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils,
  • and the performance management of staff.
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • Determining how the school’s budget is spent.
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff.
  • Hearing appeals and grievances.
  • Forming policy on the school’s curriculum and collective worship.
  • Setting standards for pupils’ behaviour and discipline.
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe.
  • Setting and monitoring the school’s aims and policies.

The term of office for all governors is four years.  Co-Opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body.  LA governors are appointed by the Governing Body through a LA nomination.  Parent and Staff governors are elected by parents and staff respectively.  The Head Teacher is ex officio and automatically holds a position due to their position within the school.

Details of the committee’s each governor serves on can be found here: Committee Table

Details of governors and their register of interests can be found here: Governors Details