Key stage 3

What will I learn in Years 7, 8 and 9?


Year 7:

Bridging unit:

What Christians believe

Place of worship and importance

Holy books and teachings


What do people celebrate and why?

Religious festivals in Christianity, Islam, Hinduism and Judaism


Creation stories:

Creation stories in Christianity, Islam and Hinduism


Year 8:


The Five Pillars of Islam



What it means to belong


Rites of Passage:

Rites of passage in Christianity, Islam, Hinduism and Judaism


Pain and suffering:

Origins of suffering in Christianity

Purpose of pain and suffering

The problem of evil and miracles


Year 9:

Human rights:

Prejudice and discrimination

Poverty and its causes

Disability and race


Making moral decisions:


Worth of humans

How free are we as humans?


Religion in the media:

Hate speech







How will I learn?

You will learn how to use and apply knowledge, skills and understanding in practical tasks.  You will learn through demonstration, practice, questioning and discussion.


What abilities, aptitudes, skills and interests will I need?

You will be able to communicate your understanding with others.  You will need to be able to work independently and with others.

Come willing to learn and we will do the rest!